Four Reasons I’m Thankful to be a Community College Librarian

Gratitude is always a healthy attitude, and what better time to highlight it than during Thanksgiving.  This week I put together a list of four reasons I’m thankful to be a two-year college librarian.

  1. Students– I became a librarian because I wanted to make a difference. Working in a two-year college library, I am consistently amazed at how many opportunities there are to do just that. Students will stop by the Learning Resource Center to say hello and let me know how they are doing in class, and they are quick to let me know that I am appreciated.  Nine times out of 10 when I’m having a bad day, a student will come talk to me, and by the time I’m done with the conversation I’m reminded of how lucky I am to have a job where I make an impact.
  2. Faculty– I am thankful to work with faculty who understand the importance of what we do, and who are always willing to work with us to help students understand information literacy and research techniques.  Our faculty will frequently make time for us to visit the classroom to show students what resources are available, and they do an amazing job of promoting our services to the students.
  3. Outreach– One of the best parts of being a librarian is that no day is the same.  I am able to help students organize community service activities, help them with resumes, and even put together workshops that help them learn APA formatting. There are always new ways to reach students, and I am lucky to be a part of making our Learning Resource Center an activity hub on campus.
  4. Librarian Community– I am thankful to be in a field that has a great community of people who are willing to help each other out. I know that when I run into a challenging reference question or a frustrating situation there is a group of like-minded individuals who are always full of good advice. This blog is an excellent example of how librarians can get together to create wonderful things. It went from the seed of an idea on the CJC-L listserv to a fully functioning blog in no time.

What are you thankful for this week?

Leave a Reply

